

Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability

REGULAR MEETING MINUTES

June 15, 2016, 2:00 P.M. Room 419-C, State Capitol Building Oklahoma City, OK 73105

COMMISSION MEMBERS PRESENT: Amy Bixler, Doug Brown, Bruce Day *, Dr. Bo

Hannaford, Johnny Parks and Dr. Kent

Shellenberger

COMMISSION MEMBERS ABSENT: Secretary of Education Natalie Shirley

OTHER REGULAR ATTENDEES: Office of Educational Quality and Accountability

Staff: Dr. Sherry Labyer, Angie Bookout, Robert Buswell, Jennifer Gambrell, Dr. Jim Hawkins, Jerry Hsieh, Abby Murphey, Renee Launey-Rodolf and

Dr. Kathren Stehno

VISITORS: Dr. Debbie Landry, Northeastern State University;

Dr. Deborah White, Randall University (Hillsdale Free Will Baptist College); Dr. Brenda Sherbourne,

East Central University; Dr. Wayne Stewart, Oklahoma Panhandle State University; Christie Stephenson, Oklahoma State Department of Education; Todd Loftin, Oklahoma State Department of Education; Marianne Perie, University of Kansas; Dr. Goldie Thompson, Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education

Call to Order: Dr. Sherry Labyer called the meeting to order at 2:05 PM.

Introduction of Commission Members and Roll Call: Dr. Labyer asked for the roll call to be taken. Five Commission members were present, and it was established that a quorum existed.

Welcome from Dr. Sherry Labyer: Dr. Labyer welcomed everyone to the meeting. She expressed her appreciation for Dr. Shellenberger chairing the meeting in Secretary Shirley's absence.

Approval of Minutes from the May 18, 2016 Commission Meeting: Dr. Hannaford made a motion to approve the minutes of the May 18, 2016 Commission meeting as submitted. Ms. Bixler seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Ms. Bixler: approve Dr. Hannaford: approve Mr. Brown: approve Dr. Shellenberger: approve Mr. Parks: approve Secretary Shirley: absent Mr. Day: absent

Discussion and action on State Accreditation for East Central University: Mr. Brown made the motion to approve continued State Accreditation for East Central University for seven years. Dr. Hannaford seconded the motion. The motion passed per the following vote:

Ms. Bixler: approve Dr. Hannaford: approve Mr. Brown: approve Dr. Shellenberger: approve Mr. Parks: approve Secretary Shirley: absent Mr. Day: absent

Presentation by East Central University- "Power Partnership"

Presentation and Discussion on follow-up for unmet standard and Areas for Improvement on Hillsdale Free Will Baptist College

Marianne Perie, Director, Center for Educational Testing and Todd Loftin, Oklahoma State Department of Education, presented on science cut point setting for Dynamic Learning Maps.

Vote to enter into executive session, to discuss the employment, hiring, appointment, promotion, demotion, disciplining, or resignation of Dr. Sherry Labyer, OEQA Executive Director, and salary ranges of OEQA Staff. Mr. Brown made a motion to enter into executive session. Mr. Parks seconded the motion. Entered into executive session at 2:25 pm. The motion passed per the following vote:

Ms. Bixler: approve Dr. Hannaford: approve Mr. Brown: approve Dr. Shellenberger: approve Mr. Parks: approve Secretary Shirley: absent Mr. Day: absent

^{*}Mr. Day arrived at 3:10 pm and entered Executive Session.

Vote to return to Open Session at 4:04 pm. Mr. Parks made the motion to return to open session. Mr. Brown seconded the motion. The motion passed per the following vote:

Ms. Bixler:	approve	Dr. Hannaford:	approve
Mr. Brown:	approve	Dr. Shellenberger:	approve
Mr. Parks:	approve	Secretary Shirley:	absent

Mr. Day: approve

Vote on matters discussed in Executive session relating to the employment, hiring, appointment, promotion, demotion, disciplining, or resignation of Dr. Sherry Labyer, OEQA Executive Director, and salary ranges of OEQA Staff. Dr. Hannaford made a motion to accept the resignation of Dr. Sherry Labyer. Ms. Bixler seconded the motion. The motion passed per the following vote:

Ms. Bixler:	approve	Dr. Hannaford:	approve
Mr. Brown:	approve	Dr. Shellenberger:	approve
Mr. Parks:	approve	Secretary Shirley:	absent

Mr. Day: approve

Vote to table the salary ranges for OEQA employees: Mr. Day made a motion to table the salary ranges for the OEQA employees. Dr. Hannaford seconded the vote. The motion passed per the following vote:

Ms. Bixler:	approve	Dr. Hannaford:	approve
Mr. Brown:	approve	Dr. Shellenberger:	approve
Mr. Parks:	approve	Secretary Shirley:	absent
Mr. Day:	approve		

Program updates: None

New Business: None

Announcements and Informational Items: None

The meeting adjourned at 4:08 PM.

The minutes of the June 15, 2016 regular meeting of the Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability were approved (circle one)

as submitted with corrections

on July 20, 2016.

Signed:

Natalie Shirley, Chairman		